[Solved] Imaging and Partitioning with ZipMagic

For all your technical questions and concerns.

[Solved] Imaging and Partitioning with ZipMagic

Postby ronald739 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:42 am

Hello,

Am i able to make a image of my Hard Disk with ZipMagic installed using LZS90 compression (DoubleSpace 3) ?

I'm using Win 10 x64 CU.

Below is screenshots of my partitions

Capture 2.PNG
Capture 2.PNG (41.35 KiB) Viewed 615 times

Capture 1.PNG
Capture 1.PNG (46.6 KiB) Viewed 615 times

Using a Partitioning program it shows as Unallocated Space.

Capture 4.PNG
Capture 4.PNG (79.64 KiB) Viewed 615 times

Using the Imaging program, note the C Partition

As I'm new to ZipMagic any help would be appreciated.

Regards.
ronald739

Re: Imaging and Partitioning with ZipMagic

Postby admin » Tue Sep 05, 2017 1:58 pm

Thank you! First, it seems your AOMEI partition manager is completely incompatible with the GPT partition layout that is in use by newer Windows releases.

As you can see, Macrium Reflect (which we are rather fond of here, not in the least because they `borrowed` our rebooting technology) does correctly display your GPT drive partitions, just as Windows Disk Management does - although, hmm, Macrium does seem to have a bug with displaying your used space on your C: drive, perhaps due to the Bitlocker encryption.

Using ZIPmagic DoubleSpace, you can image your boot drive (Drive C:) easily - just compress (or recompress) your disk, and then copy the hidden ZIPmagic.WIM file found on the root of your drive (c:\ZIPmagic.WIM) to any external media. This counts as your image! :D