New DoubleSpace 2 Option: System Refresh

For all your technical questions and concerns.

New DoubleSpace 2 Option: System Refresh

Postby admin » Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:27 pm

Please see the new System Refresh option in DoubleSpace 2:

systemrefresh.png
DoubleSpace 2 System Refresh
systemrefresh.png (42.39 KiB) Viewed 8556 times


This option restores your system to the same state it was in the last time you compressed it.

It does not require an Undo Disk, and it runs very fast. After rebooting, it just deletes all files on your disk (except those in excluded folders, and those that must remain like the Windows Recovery Environment), and then re-applies your WIM (which it does not delete either, of course) in compressed mode.

To be frank, it was simpler to code this behavior in this fashion; rather than having to interface with Microsoft’s one-click reset tool layering. However the net result is the same: a one-click reset experience.

Hoping this helps DoubleSpace aficionados everywhere :)
ZIPmagic
The Next Generation Data Compression Platform
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 12:35 pm

Re: New DoubleSpace 2 Option: System Refresh

Postby grigoris_a » Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:12 pm

This option will become available in next built?I don't have it in 12.8
grigoris_a
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 10:20 am

Re: New DoubleSpace 2 Option: System Refresh

Postby admin » Sat Apr 25, 2015 9:58 pm

Welcome to the forums, Grigoris!

This option is already available in the beta build available at:

www.zipmagic.co/beta-zipmagic.msi
www.zipmagic.co/beta-zipmagic.exe

And for the Server build:

www.zipmagic.co/server/beta-zipmagic.msi
www.zipmagic.co/server/beta-zipmagic.exe

Still putting a few more finishing touches on the option, and also fixing some minor issues. The beta is safe to use, the issues are purely cosmetic at this stage; but the final build will go live (probably 12.8.1) when the cosmetics have been sorted.

Enjoy, and have fun!
ZIPmagic
The Next Generation Data Compression Platform
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 12:35 pm

Re: New DoubleSpace 2 Option: System Refresh

Postby grigoris_a » Thu Apr 30, 2015 6:54 pm

Is it possible when choosing system refresh not to ask if we want to refresh after the reboot in the doublespace enviroment?
grigoris_a
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 10:20 am

Re: New DoubleSpace 2 Option: System Refresh

Postby admin » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:45 pm

First, please upgrade to the latest public version from the main download site. The links above no longer work, and this feature has been officially included in the main product, following successful regression testing.

Second, I am afraid the answer is no at this time. Because no Undo Disks are involved in a System Refresh (unlike Clone | Restore | Restore Compressed), this operation requires re-confirmation. Chances of something going wrong a very low (you'd have to have a power loss - and you wouldn't even experience the error you previously reported with a System Refresh, because no new image is created) - but still, better safe than sorry.

If your tablet does not recognize its touchscreen display, you can always use an OTG cable to connect a mouse, or reset your tablet using your OEM's original recovery media. This will update your Windows Recovery Environment, and especially the drivers for the WinRE environment, with those designed for your tablet - which is the entire point of the exercise. After that is done, you can go ahead and nuke your generic OEM installation with DoubleSpace (Clone | Restore | Restore Compressed comes to mind, after you have done Clone | Backup on your current system to create a fresh WIM on an Undo Disk, of course).

Hope that helps.
ZIPmagic
The Next Generation Data Compression Platform
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 12:35 pm


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron